Tags

, , , ,

    Every time I see American hair shampoo and conditioner commercials on TV, I have to laugh. The suds, the slow and sumptuous lather, and the vigorous towel drying afterwards that somehow leads to moisturized, perfectly straight beautiful hair. I thought this was how I was supposed to wash my hair for years, a quick 1 minute shampoo and a 2-3 minute condition, as it instructed on the back of every L’Oreal bottle.

    The reality of hair washing, for me, is a half day affair and starts in the kitchen. I pull out bowls and mixers. One day, when I was in college, my mother walked in, saw all the food and asked,

  “Mmm, what are you cooking?”

    “It’s going in my hair.”

    “Oh.”

    

image

   My hair conditioner is a thick, creamy mixture with a coconut milk base and coconut oil, Triphala powder, Amla powder and a healthy dollop of SheaMoisture’s Grow & Restore Conditioner.

image

    I leave it on for a few hours, letting it steam up with a plastic bag and a towel on my head. I usually do a triphala powder face mask too. So, basically, I’m covered in mud. I don’t see that on any hair commercial!
image

   I rinse it all off to detangled, shiny and stronger hair as well as the softest hair I’ll have all week (I only wash my hair once a week!) But wash day doesn’t end there. I air-dry my hair gently (or, if it’s summer I would do the beloved wash n go), then add the Shea butter (roots) and coconut oil (ends) and twist for the night.

image

Freshly washed hair. Mud on, mud off!

   I have a great curl pattern and lots of volume washing my hair this way. I feel refreshed and rejuvenated, unlike using a conventional shampoo and conditioner that left my hair dry, frizzy and dull.

image

Ready to moisturize!

image

Moisturized, twisted, ready for bed!

    It is also Wash Day for my 2 year old son. He has long, beautiful curls and a separate wash routine I’ll save for another post. What we both have in common is wearing satin bonnets to sleep! Protect your curls! Happy Wash Day, ladies and gentlemen!

image

