Tags

, ,

  Today is day two of my No Makeup Challenge and I felt more confident and comfortable in my own skin. I kept eye contact with everybody, smiled and made polite conversation. I spoke with an African father of a beautiful daughter at the pool, and he looked at me as if I was a sister from the Mother Land. It made me appreciate my natural Black self that much more, to be of a comforting, familiar sight to someone.

 

image

   But with the focus off beauty and vanity, I found myself exploring deeper subjects. The Ghomeshi trial verdict. The sexual victims. Sexism. Systemic racism. The politics of natural hair in the professional world. All the injustices, all the dehumanizing acts towards people of my gender and race.

    Beauty shines from the inside out. If we are conscious, if we are aware of what it is really important we would spend less time looking in the mirror and more time uplifting and encouraging our Brothers and Sisters. When history, when herstory is made and we are treated as human beings with dignity and equal rights, our lipgloss is not going to be an important factor. We are in the trenches, and it’s going to get ugly. And that is what makes us beautiful.

