Tags

, , , , , , ,

image

It is Day 4 of my One Week No Makeup Challenge and it has been the only sunny day this week. I took full advantage and went hiking through the trails with my 2 year old, arriving by bike. The sun felt good, filtering through the trees and warming my legs and cheeks. There was a lot of serious stuff going on in the world from Mexico to Afghanistan, but right here, right now, that sun just washes all that away and says, that is not how things are meant to be.

   We all are equal. Everybody in this world. If each nation, and each tribe within that nation works collectively towards the goal of equality–this sun and the carefree aura it exudes–can be felt by everyone. How lucky are we to enjoy a beautiful spring day. We are not stuck labouring away for a few dollars in a candy factory with a dangerously flimsy roof, or forced to go into a war as a young child, or to sell bracelets by the beach to feed our family bread. The Sun is good. This Earth is meant to be good. Why can’t humankind be this way, too?

    I love my hair. I love my skin. This is why I am writing this blog, trying out this No Makeup Challenge that has me feeling real, and more connected to people… making me see everyone as one human race. Let’s take our masks off. Apathetic masks. Unfeeling masks. Hardened masks. Let’s let the sun in.

