Tags

, , ,

image

  Today was Wash Day for both my son and I. My SheaMoisture condish is finished and I’m thinking of trying TGIN next, for a change. My 2 year old’s hair has grown so rapidly lately and is thicker and curlier than ever. I like to leave it alone but I also don’t want him to look uncared for.

   Then, I remembered I had castor oil. It wasn’t the good quality Jamaican Black Castor oil. But it does soften up Afro hair and adds a lot of shine.

My son has a loose curl type, much looser than my kinky Afro hair but despite the generous Iranian hair gene, my African hair gene means those curls dry out and then into mini congos (pieces of hair that form one, big loc). It looks like crazy bedhead as of late. Luckily, the use of a creamy, natural conditioner finished with a teaspoon of castor oil keeps those ringlets moisturized enough that they don’t dry off and get matted.

image

Of course, it is our job as Black parents to teach our children self-love and self-worth, and I am always including my kid in brushing his own hair, and looking at himself in the mirror so I can point out his great smile, his lovely cheeks, and his beautiful eyes. I don’t think there are enough opportunities to instill a healthy sense of pride in our children, and I don’t want to miss any such occassion.
   

