Tags

,

  I always chuckle when somebody stipulates that wearing one’s own hair on their head naturally is a “fad”. Natural hair is nothing short of revolutionary, it is nothing less than a powerful affirmation of one’s African origins. These origins are nothing to be ashamed about, or to hide. It is a fact to be proud of, to be empowered by.

   And I love the natural hair movement. I love having shelves of natural hair milks, raw Shea butter and silk bonnets that are specifically meant for my hair. I love deep conditioning my hair on a Saturday night, knowing I am receiving hair care tips meant to teach and empower me from natural hair mavens on social media. I love all the blogs and my beautiful sisters dedicated to their natural hair: from Nairobi to Houston, from product junkies to hair minimalists. I love the militantly natural sister and brothers, my comrades; and I love my sisters and brothers who are trying this out–dipping their feet in the water.

   I love the way we defend small, Black businesses. And how we are creating an environment of self-love and self-acceptance, of solidarity and unity with each other and a strong, united front. I love how we educate and celebrate each hair type instead of perpetuating the “good hair” myth. Our crowns have been scorned and  locked away for so long, but we are liberating ourselves.

