Tags

, ,

  Returning to my natural hair is a pleasure when you know what your hair needs. And African hair loves care that is from the goodness of Mother Earth. This is no coincidence. We, children of the Sun, have to adapt our crowns to the changing weather so our hair can thrive at its best.

image

Aunt Jackie’s Don’t Shrink Flaxseed Elongating Curling Gel is the humectant powerhouse of gels. Flaxseed gel is perfect for use with flexirods for defined curls and I run this through my son’s 3C mane to bring out his natural curls without the crunch of conventional gels which are so not formulated for beautiful African hair. This gel is sulfate, paraben mineral oil and petrolatum free.

image

SheaMoisture’s Curl and Style Milk is a hair milk that works. It’s pretty light but that’s why it’s perfect for spring and summer! It is light enough for my son, but somehow it’s exactly what my 4A coils need as a daily styling aid. I would say it refreshes hair.

image

  III Sisters of Nature are known for their co-wash and this brand has affordable prices but still provide a product that naturally delivers good results. I go through conditioners pretty quickly, and this one provides good slippage. Uber important!

  

image

   As a pre-poo, I mix a castor oil made locally from the West Indies (not as thick as Jamaican Black castor oil) with jojoba oil and EVOO for a half hour. This not only provides incredible, freakin’ shine but it really moisturizes my scalp! This oil is really helpful in adding to a deep conditioning treatment too.

In the spring, I deep condition once a week with my Spring Softness Recipe: local raw honey, coconut milk, jojoba oil and a tablespoon of conditioner. I leave it on for an hour or so and after rinsing, apply a thin layer of whipped Shea butter with a bristle brush to start the week off right! (The result is super soft, shiny and moisturized happy hair). Happy warm winters, fellow Queens and Kings!

