Tags

, ,

   My son’s hair is getting longer every week I wash it and, it seems, drier too. I deep-condition his natural curls once a week but it still ends up dry because he wears his hair “out”. In fact, after I wash it, I let it air dry and leave it alone until next wash day. No combing, no brushing. Even if I put his hair up in a quick ponytail, I do not comb it first.

image

   I have all the right products for my 2 year old’s full mane, but not the right techniques. Just as I protective style my hair to retain moisture and combat dryness, I realized a few protective styles could greatly benefit my boy. However, it was difficult to find protective styles for natural boy’s long hair! I had to look really hard and found inspiration via Jaden Smith and Farouk James

image

image

  Natural boy’s hair is something that needs as much TLC as girl’s hair, despite the lack of elaborate styles available. How cute were Jaden’s twists way back when?!

