Tags

, , , , ,

image

  My son’s hair began locking exactly 7 days ago. It’s not easy locking a 2 year old’s hair. For instance, his hair became damp from swimming yesterday as we tried to beat the heat. Trips to the park mean finding wood chips or worse, sand, in his curls. At the stage where they don’t look like locs yet, it just looks like I’m too lazy to comb his head and I should be written up for child neglect.

image

  

  But it is a remarkable journey. It is liberating to let go of Euro-centric ideologies on how a Black male child should look or behave, and invite my son to love himself and to love his Afrikan roots, his dark skin and to move towards upholding Afrikan culture and values and eschewing the dominant culture. Bun Babylon, in fewer words. Unapologetically Afrikan.

   Since I’m not washing his hair, I have kept it clean with distilled tea tree oil, aloe (soothing qualities), and a Apple cider vinegar spray to clarify any product buildup. I twist and counterrub his locs with flaxseed gel, a natural alternative to beeswax. When I grew freeform locs, beeswax was extremely difficult to wash out. So flaxseed gel and aloe gel are better at “holding” the hair together until it fuses into locs

image

!
We spend a lot of time with another Rastafarian family, and it reinforces Black love as well as socializes my son to see that Black is beautiful and to accept other Black people; not be suspicious or hostile to one another. It is one thing to talk about Black Love and Unity, and another to practice it! Jah blessings!
  

