Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  My son’s hair, which I decided to loc as an affirmation of Afrikan identity and self-love, has been transitioning wonderfully. Freeform or “natural” form locs are amazingly unique and his character and personality seems to be magnified by his big, bold hair.

image

image

   The products I am using is Alaffia African Black Soap to wash (although I have not washed his hair yet). It is a non-residual soap approved for loc washing, and it’s fairtrade and benefits women and children in Togo, Africa. I also use an apple cider vinegar and water spray to cleanse the scalp and I vigorously rub a few drops of tea tree oil in the scalp to stop itching and for it’s antifungal and antibacterial properties. Then, I leave it alone and let it transform!

image

