Hey, hey, naturalistas! I was originally going to post about my son’s locs progress but something else came up. I was hanging out on my porch this evening catching a cool breeze with my son and some neighbourhood children when I noticed one of the girls had a bald spot. She is my neighbour, sometimes I walk their dog and I have noticed her neglected hair since a year ago, when I first met her. Her hair hasn’t grown since, and was looking worse!

  I obtained permission from her dad to moisturize her hair on my porch. Living in a rural, small town with no Black hairstores, much less one catering to our natural hair and having a clueless White mother who was quite befuddled with her head, I don’t blame them. Her mom was using shampoo formulated for European hair, and Vaseline. Just, NO!

   K, we will call her has more of her African father’s coily texture but beautiful golden blonde hair and a mix of loose curls at her crown and stunning yellow-green eyes. It made me aggravated to see her playing with girls who had their long hair in ponytails while her own beautiful hair was drier and sparser than a desert.

  I started with a spritz of water and castor oil made from my island, Dominica, to help grow the bald spot and sparse hairs thicker and healthier. I then added a hair butter to the entire head and combed through, detangling with a wide tooth comb. Immediately, the texture went from dry and rough to soft and moisturized. It wasn’t long enough to go in a ponytail (TWA) so I tucked her ends in with bobby pins and sent her home with a tub of Shea butter, Cantu conditioner and the hair butter.

  Her mother may not know how to properly wash and moisturize her hair. I just want to set her off on the right road, giving her the basic information and products so she can try them out and see that they work better than Vaseline. All I want to see is that beautiful, little girl with a thick head of curls. After all, nobody is born knowing how to care for natural hair. It is a process, a learning process, one that every person with any type of African hair deserves to embark on. 

*I’ll follow up on K’s hair this week, y’all!

